I Don’t Deserve This Man

received_10208786149192123

Sitting quietly, reflecting on the pain,

That was caused by all the mistakes I made,

I guess it will be nothing compared to your pain,

Once you find out I betrayed you even before we met.

 

How can I say that I’ve done you good all the days of my life,

When I’ve given away what was supposed to be yours?

How can I say that I patiently waited for you,

When I’ve given too much of myself to them?

 

I wasn’t able to keep myself whole,

Yet, there you are, you stood firm and kept yourself pure.

I said to God, “Please no, not him. Why him?”

I don’t deserve that man.

 

I cried, asking God to take the desire away,

Pleading Him not to see those characteristics in you.

“I don’t deserve him. Why him?”

Then suddenly, He made me stop and spoke gently to me.

 

“You don’t deserve him?” Jesus asked me.

“What do you have that you deserve?”

“Do you deserve the mercy and grace that I’ve given you?”

“How about righteousness that was placed on you when I died on the cross?”

 

Still sitting by the corner, I cried harder.

For I realized, I don’t deserve my life at all,

Let alone be chosen by God to bear His name.

But praise be unto God who chose what is low and despised in the world, even the things that are not, to bring nothing the things that are.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.